RSS

Ephemerale 2009 Imperial Russian Stout

11 Jan

In a previous blog (An Imp is Born), I described the early stages of the production of a home-brewed Imperial Russian Stout, and I mentioned that I had a bottle of a previous version of this beer, Ephemerale 2009 Imperial Russian Stout, which I was saving until Christmas. On Boxing Day, I finally opened it. It had been maturing for over two years and the bottle opened with a pleasing hiss. The beer poured black and smooth with a light brown head of tightly packed bubbles.

Ephemerale 2009 Imperial Russian Stout

The aroma was rich dark chocolate, which followed through into the taste. Strong spirituous overtones were felt right from the start. The taste was very dark and bitter, with notes of alcoholic fruit and a hint of spice. Very warming with a real alcoholic punch. It’s fantastic. There is simply no way that this tastes like a home-brewed beer.

I wondered how strong it was, so I left a tiny drop of it to go flat overnight and dribbled it into a small vinometer which I use to get approximate ABV readings. Now it’s not a scientific instrument, and the values it gives can only be treated as approximate, but the level settled at around 11%.

I will be starting brewing my own beer in a couple of weeks, and I think I’ve just seen what I am ultimately aiming at.

Words and images are my copyright, please respect that. All you have to do is ask. Thank you.

Beer Bloggers New

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 11 January, 2012 in Bottled Beer, Home Brewing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Ephemerale 2009 Imperial Russian Stout

  1. nosniboR natsirT rD (@ephemeraldog)

    11 January, 2012 at 15:55

    I’m still intrigued by that vinometer reading Alebagger! My calculations had the 2009 Imp at 8.6% ABV, quite a bit lower, although that was calculated before it was bottled. Perhaps the 18 months maturation does something magical?
    I wonder what reading it would give for my XP variant of the 2009 Imp, which I worked out as 15.6% ABV?

     
    • Alebagger

      11 January, 2012 at 16:13

      I know! I should callibrate the thing against some booze of known strength. I promise to do that before I use it again!

       
  2. Ale Evangelist

    8 February, 2012 at 04:23

    Oh EXCELLENT! I don’t know how I missed this post, but it’s awesome to hear that you plan to start brewing your own beer! It’s a lot of fun, and the results can be spectacular. Just be very diligent about your sanitation. Bacteria is not tasty stuff. Let me know how your brews turn out!

     

Leave a Reply

 
